Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PC Issues - Possible Virus

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 ketsuhige

ketsuhige

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:53 AM

Posted 27 April 2011 - 12:35 PM

First of all, I'm not very good with computers so please bear with me.

About a month ago, my PC restarted for no apparent reason. I then noticed that so many things have changed dramatically. There's too many to list, so I'll just mention the ones that stick out the most:

+ Appearance changed: it went back to windows classic (from the original Vista appearance). I was able to change it back to Vista.
+ Statup programs have all disappeared and won't come back. I tried so many times to have start-up programs reappear, but it just won't work. Now when I click the "start" button, the part where programs used to appear (google chrome, MS Word, Firefox...etc) is completely blank.
+ When I try to make certain changes, then won't take effect. Ex: open programs of the same type get grouped together and I don't like that. I went and unchecked that feature, clicked apply, nothing happens. It still groups them together.