Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Whacked By MS Recovery Virus. Some fixed覧Not All.

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 windummy

windummy

• Members
  • 53 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:44 PM

Posted 26 April 2011 - 03:42 AM

04-26-11 / E. Coast USA!

Greeting to All:

As a newbie, I'm ready to share the following XP Pro virus issue(s). I've been able to fix a lot of the mess on my own.
But, need help on other things that may be beyond my scope capabilities at this time.

To make it easier for all, I propose to show the following re-to my situation:

1. A brief summary of the issue(s).
2. Some basic info about my PC system / browser / Security Software, etc.
3. What free trial prog I downloaded & used from this site BEFORE joining BC Forum.

1. SUMMARY OF VIRUS ISSUE:

> I got whacked last week by that WINDOWS RECOVERY virus deal while somehow browsing FTP sites I own and use.
> Splash screen of this console would not go away (despite many attempts in SAFE/COMMAND PROMPT MODE).
> In SAFE MODE, SR (*System Recovery) bannered as being shut off and remains so at this writing.
> Scan Disk in SAFE MODE was successful.
> Meanwhile, Desktop remained solid blue background color with my usual population of shortcut icons gone or hidden.
> HOWEVER, My Computer / My Docs when clicked remained hidden. / IE-8 iCon remained accessible.