Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Think I may be infected

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 Sign

Sign

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:11 PM

Posted 24 April 2011 - 12:24 AM

Hello this is my first time posting here. I've tried to look for a solution to my problem but I cannot find it. I am running XP Professional.

I've ran Kaspersky and while it says there is nothing infected on my computer, I definitely know something is wrong. Usually when I click a link on Google I'll be redirected to random suspicious websites. I also look into the Windows Task Manager and if I've had my PC on for some time svchost.exe will have the top memory usage. This has never been the case before and I've read this might be due to malware infecting it. Any and all help with my problem would be appreciated. I'm afraid to do much with my computer.

Edit: I have noticed with the Kaspersky notifications that svchost.exe is trying to download malicious software.

Edited by Sign, 24 April 2011 - 03:03 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Sign

Sign
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  

Posted 24 April 2011 - 06:36 PM

Any help would be greatly appreciated : [

#3 Computerproblem101

Computerproblem101

• Members
  • 140 posts
  •  

Posted 24 April 2011 - 06:44 PM