Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Combofix Devastating Deletion Log

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 goldenjosh

goldenjosh

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:59 AM

Posted 10 April 2011 - 11:17 AM

I have attached a combofix.txt log from a few days ago from a XP Home PC.
Attached File  ComboFix.txt   51.81KB   20 downloads

I work as a level 1-2 technician for a local computer helpdesk/repair company. I have used combofix 1000s of times, but last week, I was completely speechless as I watched combofix delete...c:\windows\system, system32, .dll's, and other system files. I have heard horror stories that Combofix can completely devastate a computer, but seeing it do it right in front of your eyes on-site was horrifying.

Setting: A customer called in to schedule a virus removal on site. I went on-site and did my normal routine. Safemode > Malwarebytes > (rename avg)> reboot > normal boot > combofix. MBAM found and removed 3 trojans and some adware which included the infection that I was sent out there for. But to be safe, I always run combofix. To my amazement, combofix started deleting... well check the log. I was able to reboot fine afterwards, but that's the only normal thing that happened. Drivers were missing, programs failed, errors everywhere.