I have a user who cannot stay connected to a mapped drive.
I keep getting an error that says, "Local Device Name Is Already In Use", when I attempt to view the drive.
I usually can see the drives contents when I do this mapping on other users' computers, IE;...I go to My Network Places >>> Map Network Drive >>>
I put in the drive letter that I want to use, and then I browse to the folder in that drive that I want to map. On this PC, I can't see the folders in the drive...in other words, I can see the Network drive, "Img01", but cannot see the contents of that drive...(hope I'm making sense)
So then I go about it the hard way and find the contents by going:
Start >>> Run >>> \\img01
Then I can see the contents, I right click on the folder I want to map, and presto!
It's mapped. But when the user shuts down or reboots, It's lost it's mapping and has to be re-mapped...
I'm at a loss. Anyone?
I'm about to go crazy over this...