Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Possible rootkit and regedit.exe infection

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 croakingfrogs

croakingfrogs

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:23 AM

Posted 28 March 2011 - 06:17 PM

This is my first time posting and if this is the wrong area to post, I apologize.

Am working on a machine and have tried everything I can think of and nothing has worked.

Is windows XP, SP3

The taskbar and start button are gone, the desktop icons and wallpaper are fine. Did try extracting explorer.exe file from disk, this did nothing in case this file was corrupt is why I tried this.

Can not install anything. The windows installer will not run and neither do many services (services.msc)

There is no system restore, am told "system restore will not work for you this time, please reboot and try again" or similar message. The copy and paste do not work and can not move desktop icons. They do work when clicked. The search function will not work. Gpedit will not work. Msconfig works to a point. Does boot up slow also

Have had no problems getting on internet and using keyboard, task manager is fine, the 'run' function works when bringing up using keyboard, regedit opens and works fine, using keyboard the start button still does not work and taskbar is not on autohide. That was first thing I tried