Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer Suddenly Running Slowly

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kasmoooski

kasmoooski

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:06 PM

Posted 17 March 2011 - 08:57 PM

Hi - this is my first time on here. I recently started having trouble with my laptop running very slowly. I ran avg and also Spybot and they came back with no viruses or spyware. I opened the task manager and noticed that it is running at 100% CPU, and assume that is the reason for the lag. I noticed teatimer associated with Spybot S&D was taking up a lot of memory, so I uninstalled S&D and reinstalled it without the teatimer. That seemed to speed it up slightly, but it is still running slow, particularly when trying to play videos or opening programs needing java. I also ran PC tools registry mechanic to scan the registry, clean up the disks and registry, and defrag the registry, but not getting any faster. Looking at the processes in the task manager, the two that are using up the most CPU seem to be connected to my Belkin Router (which I have been using without this problem for several months): Bkbackupscheduler.exe and Connect.exe go back and forth between 47% CPU and 50% CPU each. I don't know enough about computers to know what these processes are, if they are legit and necessary, or if they should be using so much CPU, an