Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New HTPC Build

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 sk824249

sk824249

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:40 AM

Posted 09 March 2011 - 12:17 PM

Hi All,

I am looking for a good amount of advice in the way of what to go with for my new HTPC. I am a computer/IT tech at a small university with a limited IT budget, so we don't deal with a lot of cutting edge equipment to say the least.

Recently my HTPC went down, a few too many power surges + capacitor fatigue on the mobo have just made it a good time to upgrade anyhow. It was an old gaming PC that I received for free for building a new gaming PC for a friend of mine about 2 years ago. I am only decided on a couple of things.

My budget is flexible, but I don't really want to throw too much money at this thing as it doesn't get too much use and most of the use is just streaming from the web or torrenting TV shows / occasional blu-ray download (but very infrequent) .

Processor/Mobo: I'd like to go AMD, primarily because of brand loyalty - but if anyone has any opinions on why to go Intel please let me know

Cooling: The case itself has about 7 fans, however I'm VERY open to suggestions for a good processor cooling system

RAM: I was thinking about going with anywhere from 6-8 GB, depending on the mobo that I buy