Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista to 7 disaster

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 DaveGulliksen

DaveGulliksen

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:23 AM

Posted 28 February 2011 - 10:45 AM

Hi, All,

I'm new to the forum, and although I've been doing programming for many years, operating systems are not my forte'.

Recently I upgraded a PC at home from Vista to Windows 7. All seemed to work fine for several days. I have Norton 360 and regularly update.

But then programs would freeze during loading. It can be any program, from IE8 to Chrome, to Windows Explorer or Solitaire. I might get just the splash screen or a blank screen or nothing at all. After that NOTHING will load, including Task Manager. But windows already loaded will continue to work. Thinking it might be an IE bug, diagnostics I run say that Data Execution Protection is turned off. Turning it on doesn't seem to "take" permanently, even doing it for all programs in Windows Control Panel.

When I log out, I always get a screen that the listed programs aren't shutting down asking if it should be forced. If I do nothing, after a few seconds the message will disappear and continue the shutdown. Sometimes it has listed one or more programs I tried to run, but sometimes *no* program will be listed above the message.