Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


SPAM sending from my email

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 hagal19


  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Local time:08:57 PM

Posted 17 February 2011 - 07:22 PM

My email account is automtically sending SPAM emails to people in my contact list. I have copied the message it sends below.
It appears to come from me but links to an irrelevant Internet page and has some suspect headers [that I have bolded] .
According to IP Address Lookup , what might be the original sender is in Poland.
I suspect that the "From" field is spoofed but my PC might have an infection which is sending such messages.

Would greatly appreciate help getting rid of this problem. Any ideas?

Thanks a lot

Return-Path: <hagal19@graffiti.net>
X-Original-To: cwijones@pcug.org.au
Delivered-To: cwijones@pcug.org.au
Received: from smtps.tip.net.au (chilli.pcug.org.au [])
by members.tip.net.au (Postfix) with ESMTP id 672C316402F
for <cwijones@pcug.org.au>; Thu, 17 Feb 2011 17:38:03 +1100 (EST)
X-Greylist: delayed 627 seconds by postgrey-1.32 at chilli; Thu, 17 Feb 2011 17:38:02 EST
Received: from imr-ma06.mx.aol.com (imr-ma06.mx.aol.com [])
by smtps.tip.net.au (Postfix) with ESMTP id D018B144BA5
for <cwijones@pcug.org.au>; Thu, 17 Feb 2011 17:38:02 +1100 (EST)
Received: from imo-da02.mx.aol.com (imo-da02.mx.aol.com [])
by imr-ma06.mx.aol.com (8.14.1/8.14.1) with ESMTP id p1H6RF2N021711;
Thu, 17 Feb 2011 01:27:15 -0500
Received: from hagal19@graffiti.net
by imo-da02.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v42.9.) id 2.fa2.c64df85 (44670);
Thu, 17 Feb 2011 01:27:11 -0500 (EST)
Received: from smtprly-da02.mx.aol.com (smtprly-da02.mx.aol.com []) by cia-mc02.mx.aol.com (v129.7) with ESMTP id MAILCIAMC021-5bb74d5cbfbe3c1; Thu, 17 Feb 2011 01:27:10 -0500
Received: from web-mmc-m02 (web-mmc-m02.sim.aol.com []) by smtprly-da02.mx.aol.com (v129.8) with ESMTP id MAILSMTPRLYDA026-5bb74d5cbfbe3c1; Thu, 17 Feb 2011 01:27:10 -0500
To: cwijones@pcug.org.au, danicar789@hotmail.com,
deakin-international@deakin.edu.au, douglass_lucinda@yahoo.com.au,
eleanorlindberg@gmail.com, eli@vu.edu.au
Date: Thu, 17 Feb 2011 01:27:10 -0500
X-MB-Message-Source: WebUI
X-MB-Message-Type: User
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: hagal19@graffiti.net
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
X-Mailer: Mail.com Webmail 33222-MOBILE
Received: from by web-mmc-m02.sysops.aol.com ( with HTTP (WebMailUI); Thu, 17 Feb 2011 01:27:10 -0500
Message-Id: <8CD9C82D74A0C45-1888-AD7@web-mmc-m02.sysops.aol.com>
X-AOL-SENDER: hagal19@graffiti.net


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 Allan


  • BC Advisor
  • 8,629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Local time:06:57 AM

Posted 18 February 2011 - 08:15 AM

Your system is infected. Go to the AM I INFECTED sub-forum on this site.

#3 groovicus


  • Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Centerville, SD
  • Local time:04:57 AM

Posted 18 February 2011 - 11:44 AM

Your system might be infected, but there could be other issues that have nothing to do with your system at all. Is your contact list kept on your system, or on a server somewhere? Are you sunning your own email server?

#4 Allan


  • BC Advisor
  • 8,629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Local time:06:57 AM

Posted 18 February 2011 - 11:47 AM

Sorry, you are correct - I should have said "I believe your system is infected."

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users