Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cpu Not The Right Speed

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 icecool

icecool

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:19 AM

Posted 15 December 2005 - 11:37 PM

Hi everyone im new to bleeping computers and just wanted to say hi first of all!!!

This is my problem:

I have a Soyo Dragon P4X400 Ultra Plantium Motherboard and recently just installed a Pentium 4 Socket 478 Northwood 533mhz/512k 3.06Ghz cpu. At start up it shows the processor running at a ratio of 12 x 133 around 1.6Ghz. I noticed in the bios i can not change the ratio at all. I have tried resetting the cmos, flashing the bios with the latetest and also another motherboard (same model) and still nothing. No clue on what or if anything i can do about this.

Thanks in advance,
icecool.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 icecool

icecool
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  

Posted 16 December 2005 - 12:27 AM

In addition to that information I just found out with a cpu info program that it is a mobile processor and 12x is the ratio it is in power saving mode and i understand that u can only change the ratio on mobile motherboards. :thumbsup:

#3 junkdk

junkdk

• Members
  • 345 posts
  •  

Posted 16 December 2005 - 09:20 PM

Dear Ice,

Welcome to Bleeping Computer. :thumbsup: :flowers:

We will help you anyway we can.