Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

To Broadband, Or Not To Broadband?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 reddrose

reddrose

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:29 PM

Posted 15 December 2005 - 03:29 PM

Hi, all!

I have a dial-up connection and am considering upgrading(?). I am a complete newbie to this idea. So, I am commencing with the stupid questions:

1. Is "Broadband" the same as "High-speed" internet?
2. Will I typical see a significant jump in speed? (At this moment, I am online at 44.0 Kbps)
3. When I sign up for it, it replaces my old ISP? Or do I end up paying two companies?
4. Am I going to be able to afford this? (I can pay about 15.00 - 20.00 a month...)
5. Am I a complete moron for asking these questions? :thumbsup:

Please, Internet and copmputer gurus, educate me!! :flowers:

-Thanks-
RR
Always acknowledge a fault. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you an opportunity to commit more.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Mr Fixit

Mr Fixit

• Members
  • 34 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:29 PM

Posted 15 December 2005 - 03:51 PM