Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

External Monitor to Laptop

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 falconblumangold

falconblumangold

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:50 AM

Posted 08 February 2011 - 03:22 AM

i have a samsung syncmaster 915N that i am trying to hook up to one of my laptops and am having no luck. i have two hp's one is a pavillion dv4, the other is a dv6000. i tried messing with every setting i could find on both computers and can't get anything but a black screen to show up on the samsung monitor. it came from a desktop that crashed so i know it works. i tried the function key that looks like the monitor as well.
any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by hamluis, 08 February 2011 - 05:02 PM.
Moved from External Hardware to Win 7 forum.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 ThunderZ

ThunderZ

• Deactivated
  • 4,454 posts
  •  

Posted 08 February 2011 - 04:16 PM

You do not mention the operating system.

Are you wanting to use both monitors at once ore are you experiencing trouble with the built in monitor?

When you plug in the external monitor is it detected? Does it show up in Device Manager under monitors?