Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

USB autorun infections

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 FrankOtheMountaiN

FrankOtheMountaiN

• Members
  • 541 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:50 PM

Posted 29 January 2011 - 11:49 PM

Howdy,
I am an audio visual tech, and I use many different laptops on any given day.
Call me crazy, but I do not use any virus protection by choice. I image the computers, and if things get really bad, I just go back to that.
I can't have messages and updates popping up all of the time, or anything doing things on their own in the background when I'm
streaming video or recording audio.

So, I am able to stay out of trouble most of the time, but the only wild hair is client USB sticks that are infected
with autorun malware. I always keep all hidden files showing so I can see when there are autorun.ini's and hidden bomb folders.
I disabled autorun on all laptops, but once in awhile, somehow, I still pick up a virus.

Microsoft put out patches for this sort of thing, and I applied them, but they don't seem to work on all of the infections.

My question is, do you know of any software that can scan/detect and remove these type of infections from any usb drive upon insertion?
Without being overly invasive to the whole system?

Thanks, Frank

Frank O' The Mountain
Doing more stupid before 5AM than most people do all day.