Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Netflix-Computer is Registering as Multiple Devices

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 HamSandwich

HamSandwich

• Members
  • 60 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:35 AM

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:23 PM

I have been using Netflix for a few months. What I have noticed is that I will reach my device activation limit (6 is the max, I believe) rather quickly--specifically, it will tell me I have reached it after streaming 6 shows/movies. Apparently, my computer is being registered as a new device every time I stream a new show/movie.

I am wondering why this is, and how it can be fixed. The only solution I have found is to deactivate every device I have registered with Netflix (which is just my one computer I use for streaming)--only then will it allow me to watch another show/movie. This is a hassle, and if this is the only way, then that is alright. What I am most interested in is the reason my computer could be registering as separate devices like this. I can think of a few possibilities:
-Computer is registering by a dynamic IP address set by the ISP (I do not use a router)
-Computer is registering as a new device by some other means
-Silverlight is somehow acting fishy (which this does not seem like a local problem like a program on my computer)