Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Horrible Dell 17R LAPTOP ISSUES

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 hemiguy702

hemiguy702

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:35 AM

Posted 26 January 2011 - 02:26 PM

Hello guys and gals!

I have been a tech for quite some time. However before I explain the issue I believe to issue is a (BAD CMOS TIMER) but twice? Isn't this a rare occurrence?

Anyway, my dad bought a new Dell 17R (I can't remember the exact model). He used it for 3 months, then came home one day and attempted to bring it out of hibernation from windows 7. Upon doing so the unit shut down quickly. When he attempted to turn it back on, the unit would not display its normal POST message from the bios of specs. It hought maybe the display had gone bad a s a freak thing and attempted to hook up via both HDMI and VGA outs. No avail. But upon closer inspection I noticed the HDD light was blinking at not a read/write pace, but a rather constant and quick flash and a flickering sound corresponding to the flash.

I thought maybe the North-bridge had gone bad? Or a controller issue? but I removed the HDD and the same issue took place, minus the flashing light!?!@