Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Antivirus Software Alert help!

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Ledundead

Ledundead

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:01 PM

Posted 06 January 2011 - 02:37 AM

Hello! I'm new to this whole website, but I've looked all over for help on this and found nothing that could actually help solve my friend's problem.

I've read a few things on this virus before, and the suggestions posted may work for my friend, but sadly, the virus is preventing add/remove programs from working.

When most files are clicked (including rkill), the virus claims "Application could not be executed. The file *** is infected."

My friend has no professional antivirus system on their computer, but I had her install Avast after the virus entered, which stopped the large red pop ups.

Malwarebytes found nothing, even on a full scan in safe mode. If possible, I would bring a USB/CD with a clean version of Malwarebytes over, but there's just no way to do that right now.

Her computer runs for about 4 or so minutes before whatever open applications freeze.

If necessary, I could get her set up on these forums to reply directly. She'd probably reply over iPhone, but could also on her computer if absolutely necessary.