Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Slow response from laptop, need help with system recovery

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Angie001

Angie001

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:06 AM

Posted 26 December 2010 - 12:25 AM

Hi,
This is my first time posting to this forum. I have an emachines laptop, E725, purchased in March 2010. Last week, the computer started running very slowly, then would take a very long time to respond to a command. Sometimes now there is no response at all. I contacted emachines support, and they advised to do a system recovery and sent me to this page for instructions:

http://support.gateway.com/emachines/desktop/2009/gateway/dx/dx4300/DX4710faq6.shtml

Q: How do I reinstall the Operating System on the computer?

A: Select models have the ability to have the operating system reinstalled from a hidden drive built into the computer. To start the system recovery:

1. Restart the computer
2. When the eMachines logo appears on the screen, press the Alt and F10 keys repeatedly.
3. When prompted with a boot screen, hit the Enter key.
4. After the system recovery program has loaded, follow the prompts to reinstall the operating system.

If the ability to reinstall from the previous method is not available or fails during the recovery, recovery of the operating system will need to be from Recovery Media.