Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Belkin router slow speeds again

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 h4mza786

h4mza786

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:18 PM

Posted 22 December 2010 - 01:26 PM

I have been using a Belkin Wireless N+ router for 3 months now, and that too with great difficulty because my computer is wirelessly connected to the router and i would get disconnected like 10-15 times a day, and my download speeds were so crap, like 20-100kb/s.

Then one day i decided to reset my router and modem, and set the channel of router to Auto, and i was amazed with my speeds. 1.3mb/s everytime, it never disconnected at all. I've been using it like that for 2 weeks until one night i suddenly got disconnected. So anyways i went to sleep later or, and when i went down the next morning i noticed an orange blinking globe light on my router. That's when i realized the router has finally given up. So i unplugged the router and back on and all the lights were fine, but the speed is now 256kb/s instead of 1.3mb/s :( The channel is still set to Auto and i think Auto is the best as i have been using channel 1 then 6 then 11 for 2 months with crap speeds.

What i don't get is why did my speed change? Why is it lower now?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 s1lents0ul

s1lents0ul

• Members
  • 544 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:18 PM