Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

RealPlayer Install problems.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Saska01

Saska01

• Members
  • 94 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:24 AM

Posted 22 December 2010 - 05:43 AM

I'm an amateur musician who plays American Country (Bluegrass) music. I listen to US I'net radio stations quite a lot, & for the last 10 months or so,i've been using the RealPlayer Free version to listen to & download music tracks & video clips.I also used it along with IEv6 to download YouTube music clips.However,in attempting what i thought was an up-date a few days ago,i totally screwed it up.I downloaded & re-installed it,but on trying to run it,i got the dreaded BSoD !!.I un-installed it once more,re-installed it & got the BSoD again.

To cut a tedious story short,i went into the registry & deleted everything i could find to do with RealPlayer - my PC should have been totally free of anything to do with RP - right ?. This morning i re-installed RP,tried to run it & it flopped again giving me the BSoD.
I use Piriform CCleaner on my PC to clean up un-wanted files etc.after i've used it. CCleaner also detects 'registry issues' of which there are quite a few to do with RP.
Two questions please : - A) Has anybody got any ideas as to what may be causing RP not to function after installing it?.