Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Drag and Drop vs Cut and Paste on Network Drive


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 sammi.curr

sammi.curr

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:56 PM

Posted 09 December 2010 - 04:58 PM

We have a problem here that I have never seen before: On a shared folder (the folder is on a server running Server 2003), a user (running Windows 7 Pro) moved (using Drag and Drop) two of three files into a new subdirectory he had created. In his Explorer window, the two files are now in the new folder, and no longer appear in their original locations, only the third file. However, when another user (running XP Pro) went to access the files, they still saw the three files in their original location. I am running Windows 7 Pro, and I tried to access the files, and I saw the three files in their original location also. I then moved (using Cut and Paste) the two files into the new subdirectory, and now everyone sees only the one file in the original location, and the other two under the new subdirectory. When the user saw the three files even after the move, we tried refreshing, closing Explorer completely, and re-opening, and still the three files showed in their original location. Is this a Windows 7/Server 2003 interaction issue, or something else? We all access, and add info to these files daily, and we want to feel secure that they are being updated properly. This is the first time anyone here has seen this particular issue. Thanks for any help.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 PolaBar

PolaBar

  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:10:56 PM

Posted 09 December 2010 - 07:17 PM

The default for Drag and Drop when moving between drives is to copy and paste.

When you drag and drop withing a single drive, the default is to move.

If you want to use drag and drop to move files between drives, you have to right click when dragging and then select "Move Here" when you drop the file

#3 sammi.curr

sammi.curr
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:56 PM

Posted 10 December 2010 - 08:57 AM

The default for Drag and Drop when moving between drives is to copy and paste.

When you drag and drop withing a single drive, the default is to move.


Right. The problem is, his view showed the files moved, but on other computers, the files were showing to be in their original location. It was like only he could see the files as moved. Everyone else saw them in their original locations. This was true even after rebooting his computer.

#4 PolaBar

PolaBar

  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:10:56 PM

Posted 10 December 2010 - 10:37 AM

Ok, sorry, I misunderstood that the first time I read it

#5 sammi.curr

sammi.curr
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:56 PM

Posted 10 December 2010 - 03:06 PM

Ok, sorry, I misunderstood that the first time I read it


No problem! Just glad someone replied. Thanks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users