Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Total newbie can't set up network

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jessie19

jessie19

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:23 AM

Posted 07 December 2010 - 05:21 PM

Hello!

I'm thankful for this great resource.

Here is my situation:

- I have a Windows XP laptop connected via ethernet cable to my wireless router (which is connected via ethernet cable to the cable router from my ISP)
- I have a Windows XP latop which connects to the internet wirelessly through the wireless router. The laptop is a netbook with no optical drive.

The wireless router is made by "my essentials."

I want to connect the computers so I can share files between the two.

I've searched the internet up and down but I haven't been able to find out how to do this. Is this a home network that I'm trying to set up? Does the netbook have to connect through the PC or something?

I've run Network Setup Wizard on both computers. I named the workgroup "123" on both when prompted. Then I restarted the computers. But after restarting nothing happened. I'm still not able to share anything.

Help please!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 NpaMA

NpaMA

• Members
  • 635 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:23 PM

Posted 08 December 2010 - 06:07 AM

Yes you are trying to setup a network.