Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

.exe.ddf virus?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Ginger4Him

Ginger4Him

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:49 AM

Posted 02 December 2010 - 10:03 PM

Hi, I'm new to this website, but in need of some information. I am a teacher for the local ISD. Yesterday, I was trying to install a file when I noticed that all the .exe files in the networked shared folder ended in .ddf I inquired with the technology department as to what was wrong and they were not aware of the problem. Later I received a phone call telling me that apparently they had gotten a virus and none of the files were recoverable.
My question is, what kind of virus is this that adds .ddf to the end of most of the .exe files? I have searched and searched and cannot find anything. I did find one other person who posted the same problem on the McAfee forum, but he never got a response. Secondly, I would like to know if anyone knows of a way to recover this file? The district spent 15,000.00 on this program and they have no idea where the original disk is. They are not the most highly qualified techs, so I am not sure that they even tried to recover the file. Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks,
Ginger

Edited by hamluis, 03 December 2010 - 08:53 PM.
Moved from XP to Am I Infected ~ Hamluis.