Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 7 Network Question

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 joesmith

joesmith

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:58 PM

Posted 02 December 2010 - 09:21 PM

Hello,

I'm new to windows 7, recently bought a laptop for school, and I have a question about it regarding my network connections. When I open Control Pannel / Network and Internet / Network and Sharing Center , I see two Icons under the 'View your active connections' section. One is my home's wireless private network, which has a name and WPA2 Encryption, it also has a Little house beside it (referring to my home network). To the right of there, it has Access type: Internet, HomeGroup: Joined, Connections : Wireless Network Connection (name). My problem/question is, There is another connection listed under the 'View your active connections' section which is called 'Unidentified network' and says Public Network beneath that. There is a little public park bench icon to the left of the name, and to the right it says Access type: Internet, Connections : Wireless Network Connection (name)... This seems a little fish-y to me. I do not recall seeing this when I had my windows XP desktop about 3 months ago. Is this some sort of Windows 7 thing (does it list my connection as two seperate active connections??) or is this a problem with my netwo