Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Lost Hard disk drive space using Glary Utilites

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 RoomSeven14

RoomSeven14

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:52 PM

Posted 27 November 2010 - 05:01 PM

Hello all. First of all, I am a newbie. Second, I am not very knowledgeable about computers, so please forgive me if this question/issue seems stupid. Hoping someone can help me.

I used a utilities program called Glary Utilities. From time to time, I use the File Shredder to Wipe the free space of my hard drive. For the last couple of years, I have not had an issue and it increases my free space on my drive. Until a few days ago, the File Shredder/Wipe free space funtion would automatically shut down my computer about 65% of the way thru the wipe down process.

When I restarted my computer, I had lost over 89gigs of free space and do not know how to recover it. I tried to perform a system restore, but that did not help. Did I destroy my laptop? Is there anyway to get the free space back? Any help that you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 caperjac

caperjac

• Members
  • 1,649 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:52 PM

Posted 28 November 2010 - 06:45 AM