Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

A Modest Proposal

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dekem

Dekem

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:27 AM

Posted 29 November 2005 - 07:44 PM

Greetings. This is my first time building a pc completely, and I'd like some advice on the parts. I've already ordered a motherboard and two IDE hard drives, and my planned list is here: (Prices from Newegg)

ASPIRE X-Plorer ATXB8KLW-BL Black/Blue Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail $55.00
CHAINTECH SA6600G Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail $145.00
Hauppauge WINTV-GO-PLUS PCI Interface WinTV-Go-Plus - Retail $48.99
FSP Group (Fortron Source) ATX400-PA ATX12V 400W Power Supply - OEM $36.99
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3200BPBOX - Retail $152.00
gigaram 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model GR1DD8T-K1GB/400/2.5 - Retail $75.00
Acer AL1912s Silver/Black 19" 12ms LCD Monitor - Retail $239.95
BenQ Black E-IDE/ATAPI DVD-ROM Drive Model 1650V - Retail $16.99
LITE-ON Beige IDE DVD Burner Model SOHW-1693S Beige OEM - OEM $38.99

And the HDs/Mobo I already have on the way:
(x2) Western Digital Caviar WD2000BB 200GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM $172.00