Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Steams unwanted (by me at least) auto patch on borderlands

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Z26

Z26

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:12 PM

Posted 24 November 2010 - 08:37 AM

I have been playing games on steam for 3 or 4 years. And spent quiet a bit of money with them. My recent favorite one was Borderlands I logged over 900 hours on the game. All it off line. Then one day everything change. After some checking I learned that they had installed a patch. I was in way informed of this. I didn't know that they could patch without my OK. Well over the last week I've on their forums and lets just say that I am probably least favorite person over there right I've been hammered real good. All I was saying was I think that it is wrong to patch a game that has bought and paid for without the owners approval. Like I daid everybody and their brother was in on this. In Games like Unreal Tournament 3 and Call Of Duty 4 when patches came out you were responsible for down loading them and installing them. And if you didn't want to you didn't have to. I guess what I'm asking here is am I right that I should have a say in what they can or can not do to the game I bought in my computer?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Members
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:12 PM