Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

VPN Through strict firewall

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
1 reply to this topic

#1 kb1ibh

kb1ibh

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:56 PM

Posted 17 November 2010 - 08:23 PM

i'm a student at a college which for now will remain nameless, and they've got the most restrictive firewall I've ever seen. i have a number of web servers through dream host(dot)com which hosts a number of PHP projects that im working on, and because i'm at the school for up to 8 hours a day, i would like to work on those projects in between classes. whenever i try to connect to the server through ports 21 or 22 (FTP and SFTP respectively) it goes nowhere, i contacted the admins at the school, and they declined to allow outgoing connections on either port (which makes no sense to me, im not asking them to forward a port to me, just to allow the traffic through)

i've got a VPN server at home i'd also like to connect to, and if im able to connect to that server, i should be able to do all my FTP work through that, but again, im unable to connect to the VPN given the school's firewall.

my ISP is Verizon fios, so ports 80, 8080, 25 are all blocked to incoming requests, which would have been the most likely ports to be opened in the school.