Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Xp Keeps Rebooting After Manual Removal Of Infections - Sywsvcs.exe

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 solitary

solitary

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:32 AM

Posted 27 November 2005 - 10:14 AM

Hi, I'm a total newbie and this is my first post here, so please bear with me if I sound stupid or not clear.

My problem is a long story. I have 2 xp of different languages on my desktop and have been using only one of them (Chinese) all the time. Yesterday I was updating and installing softwares for my other xp (English) which I haven't touched for a long time, and found myself infected and hijacked by SpySheriff. I booted back into my clean Chinese xp and I searched and found the instructions on your forum which is extremely helpful. I followed your instructions and took out SpySheriff. So far so good.

But then I found myself still infected with something I don't know which sent out hundreds of emails to people I don't know. The emails were scanned and sometimes blocked by my Norton AntiVirus (with yesterday's virus definitions) and soon my desktop were full of hundreds of message boxes from NAV. The only way was to stop it and regain control was to unplug my router and close the internet connection.