Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

TDL4 Questions

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jaxoat

jaxoat

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:55 PM

Posted 15 November 2010 - 11:06 AM

First, kudos for the tool set and public service. I work with computers for a living, but our environment is pretty tight and we don't (generally) have to deal with things like TDL4. That said...

I have been bouncing my head off several brick walls trying to figure out what was going on with a friends computer. In a nutshell, Windows Update would fail to load and I saw some redirection that was not, ummm, normal (is redirection ever normal). They had TrendMicro loaded and at some point loaded SuperAntiSpyware and Malware Bytes in an effort to fix said issues. All had the computer listed as clean. I kenned that it might be a rootkit (after I ran a few other prophylactic packages that also came up clean) so ran Sophos, Panda and McAfee's products (fwiw, in that order). They didn't blip either.

Anyway, Googled my way to this site, found the DDS tool, ran it, checked the log file, *finally* located the culprit, found another forum entry with a similar error, self-medicated with the TDSSKiller, and am now happy to report the machine is finally updating. :thumbsup:

That all said, I was curious if anyone knew: