Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New Processor

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Crazy49er

Crazy49er

• Members
  • 110 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:04 AM

Posted 14 November 2010 - 08:07 PM

One of the few areas I'm still learning in and need to ask questions about. I built this PC (Speccy) Back in 2006, my first attempt building a new PC. So far its run very well for me but recently I've done some upgrades, mostly I added 2gb more RAM, added a 500gig HDD + Windows 7 and upgraded the video card. I see newegg has a sale on decent AMD Phenom Processors and I was wondering if I could pop out ye ole windsor dual core for a nice AM2+. However I can't recall if the board itself will work with AM2+, hince I need to call in another ref to review the play.

Current Board:

ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2

Either:

AMD Phenom II X3 715

AMD Phenom II X4 940

I'd be upgrading the stock fan as well so any recommendations on that front would also be appreciated. I was leaning towards one of the all inclusive liquid cooling fan/radiator/cooling block packs that are out on the market these days for the newbie goober such as myself.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by Crazy49er, 14 November 2010 - 08:07 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Platypus

Platypus

• 14,463 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:04 PM

Posted 14 November 2010 - 08:43 PM