Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows XP Pro will not start up...

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 superhillcat

superhillcat

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:47 PM

Posted 11 November 2010 - 03:18 AM

Hello, first off, I'm not very good at computer stuff so please forgive me if I don't know all the technical words and things, and yall probably know what certain error messages say, but I'll write them all out anyway. My HP laptop won't start up, and I don't have the recovery disc or anything... It runs on Windows XP Pro and when I turn it on, it goes to a black error type screen that reads as follows:

We apologize for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this.

If your compouter stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly, or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, shose Last Known Good Configuation to revert to the most recent settings that worked.

If a previous startup attempt was interupted due to a power failure or because the Power or Reset button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose Start Windows Normally.