Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Maybe I shouldn't have purchased this CPU?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 skymaster191

skymaster191

• Members
  • 146 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:39 PM

Posted 08 November 2010 - 09:08 AM

Geez, I did a lot of research on PC build and compatibility and I am still learning a few things that I missed.

I purchased the AMD Athlon II X2 260 Regor 3.2GHz Socket AM3 65W dual-core desktop processor ADX260OCGMBOX

But then I was reading the Asus motherboard specs and it says 'AMD AM3 100 and 200 series CPU support up to DDR3 1066Mhz.'

Maybe I purchased this CPU prematurely. That motherboard can handle up to DDR3 1800 speed. But the processor can only handle the lowest speed in that motherboards range.

Is there much difference between 1800(O.C.) and 1066? Maybe I should exchange for another model.

Edited by skymaster191, 08 November 2010 - 09:09 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 s1lents0ul

s1lents0ul

• Members
  • 544 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:39 PM

Posted 08 November 2010 - 09:45 AM

1066mhz is still very capable, what are you using the build for?

i read a review on newegg that someone got ram to 1333mhz, but i cant find where it says the CPUs RAM speeds availability
==]--s1lents0ul-->

#3 skymaster191

skymaster191
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 146 posts
  •