Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need an adaptor to connect to the internet

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 bramblator

bramblator

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:09 PM

Posted 05 November 2010 - 02:35 PM

I'm not too technical so firstly I apologise about the wording that I use.

I have a really old Toshiba laptop, (about 10 years old), it has the old internet connection socket. We use to have to use an adaptor when on dial-up to convert it from the telephone size to the internet size, if that makes any sense to you. But nowadays we have the new size ethernet connections don't we???

What I would like to do is buy a convertion adaptor to enable me to go online with it again. Someone has suggested that I buy an adaptor called RJ45. Would this be the right thing? By the way I can't have wifi.

Many thanks for any responses and your patience

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,746 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:09 PM

Posted 05 November 2010 - 03:26 PM

The connectors on a laptop...determine the type of connection, no more.

Older computers had dialup connectors when dialup was the major way of connecting...if a user does not employ dialup, that connector is meaningless (which is why they have disappeared from some systems.