Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Compatibility issue

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 castoffpolite

castoffpolite

• Members
  • 160 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:23 AM

Posted 02 November 2010 - 06:23 AM

Hmmm, okay. As a writer my editor wishes me to use a template to write in. I open the saved .rtf template file, save it under the book name and start working.

When I save the file I am working in, the page changes from .rtf to compatibility mode and I get an information box that says,

The following features in this document are not supported by earlier versions of Word. These features may be lost or degraded when you save this document in an earlier file format. Click continue to save the document. To keep all your features click cancel and save the file in one of the new file formats.

Under that there is a space and it tells me;

Summary: Some custom properties that are stored in this document will be lost.

Number of occurrences: 1.

Even when I save the document in a new .rtf file, I get the same message box.