Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Deleted Think Point and it made pc like a brand new


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Masaki79

Masaki79

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Female
  • Local time:05:33 PM

Posted 31 October 2010 - 07:15 PM

Hello & Happy Halloween!

First of all, I have Dell lap top pc Latitude E6400; my company pc.

I got Think Point last night, it scanned my pc, and I think I deleted it correctly.

I restart my pc, and the icon was still showing on desk top,
so I was trying to do the same to delete it again.

While I was working, my screen turned grey and freeze.
I turn it off, restart again, and then the screen showed up like a brand new pc
(grey screen with Latitude icon).
After few minutes, it showed few icons on screen, but all my info was gone
(no previous documents, outlook office, anything).
It has icons for skype, safari, iTunes, which I didn't have when it was brand new.

This is a company pc, so every time I log in, I need to type my user name & pass word.
Now when I type my password, a small box comes up and says
"we cannot open your profile because it's corrupted. you need to contact your administrator" and
it looks like I log in as somebody else, even though it says my name on start menu and
it has a file under name in my document.

I downloaded Malwarebytes Anti-malware, and it found 5 infections. I think I killed them all.
But the situation didn't change.

I can open Internet, but when I search for something, a small box comes up saying
"you will share your search with others if you continue" and when I continue,
it opens 2 more internet box automatically
(expedia.com, amazon.com, etc). It works but very slow.



I would appreciate any advice you may have...
Thank you so much in advance for your time!!

Edited by Orange Blossom, 31 October 2010 - 07:22 PM.
Move to AII for initial assistance. ~ OB


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users