Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Stubborn Hijacker or somthing else?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Slakerking

Slakerking

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:23 AM

Posted 23 October 2010 - 08:04 PM

Hi all, I'm a newbie here and wanted to say thanks in advance for any help i receive here. It is very appreciated! I typically just format/reinstall if i have any concerns about an infection. This time it's both extremely inconvenient timing and I would like to learn how to fix this w/o resorting to reinstalling.

Win7 x64, chrome, firefox, IE8. It started in Chrome>firefox> lastly it took out IE> then windows tools, control panel items and such.

OK, on the 21st, 2 days ago, I updated my graphics driver and then i think chrome installed an update as well. A few hours later my pc BSOD'd, this system never BSOD's, especially from a browser! The cause appeared to be chrome, but after the crash all browsers quickly began to fail, by fail i mean they failed to even open a process when executed. Until that failure point they were randomly opening new tabs/windows on their own with increasing frequency