Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Have I been 'hijacked?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 firemanfred

firemanfred

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:55 PM

Posted 20 October 2010 - 02:02 PM

Hi

Can I say that I am a complete novice with computers.

I am running Windows xp home edition, service pack 3 on an intel pentium dual cpu E220 @2.40GHz
Motherboard--Foxconn G31 MX series
Bus type--PCI bus
Memory--4096mb
Bios-- Pheonix technologies--Bios v6.00pg

For the past week, programmes have been 'sticking', the computer slowing down, until yesterday when I clicked on a programme it was taking 15 - 20 seconds to respond. I decided to system restore, but then found it woudn't let me go back at all. I created a restore point for yesterday which, after checking today will let me go back to

I run Avast antivirus, which I ran and was clear, Malwarebytes Anti malware, which was clear, Super antispyware, again clear and finally ccleaner, which had a few registry issues but all cleared.

I have a windows security update which I must have run 10 times yesterday, each time completing but then appearing on the screen again 2 mins later.

I have deleted quite a few of my programmes which has made the computer a little faster but I think there is still a problem in there . Can anyone help please?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis