Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer turns off at random losing all power

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dryken

Dryken

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:59 PM

Posted 18 October 2010 - 08:19 AM

Hi. My computer is running on windows 7 64. I am a bit of a novice when it comes to computer hardware issues, but here's my problem. This morning I was listening to music in iTunes and converting some fills and my computer just shut off. (as if it had been unplugged) I looked at the back and the green like on the power supply was no lit. The power cord was tightly in place on both ends. When ibhitbthe power button to turn the computer on nothing happened. So I unpugged the power cord from the power supply. I waited 2 seconds, plugged itback it firmly and the green light on the power supply did not light. I hit the power button, again nothing. So I unplugged it again and waited 5 minutes. When unplugged it in this time the greelight on the back lit up. So I hit the power it started to boot for under second and then lost all power. I retried this many time and same thing happened. Finally I grabbed my old computer and figured maybe I could switch out the power supply. Unfortuately the old power supply is to large to fit into the slot on this computer. So I screwed the supply back in and plugged it in. This time it booted up