Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer Makeover!

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 RockerBug17

RockerBug17

• Members
  • 44 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:59 AM

Posted 05 October 2010 - 12:31 PM

I've been using my HP m7160n for over 5 years now. With only one hardware malfunction (power supply) I've come to love this solidly built machine. But now, I am ready to expand upon this machine and take it to the next level. I've been getting into the nitty-gritty of CPUs, RAM, HDD and GPUs to find the best upgrades possible. My top picks are as follows:

Intel Core2 Extreme (still debating model)
4GB of DDR2-400 or higher?
500GB Seagate Momentous XT HDD
Any solid GPU

I'm looking for any advice one hardware for upgrading my HP m7160n. What CPU, RAM, HDD, or GPU would you personally pick? I do a lot of music recording and sampling and would like to improve those functions, as well as start video editing and capturing.

Edited by RockerBug17, 05 October 2010 - 01:17 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,810 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:59 PM

Posted 05 October 2010 - 02:41 PM

You are asking to upgrade your Compaq, but list parts that won't work with the motherboard in that computer.