Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

CPU usage increases to max (while memory usage doesnt) when I run a application

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 t4324

t4324

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:21 AM

Posted 05 October 2010 - 02:34 AM

I have the following config
-> Windows XP Professional SP2 which I have been using for the last 3 years.
-> Updated Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 running for the last 1 year.
-> No new software were installed in the last month that I can recall of.

Suddenly I get this problem:
1. I ran an application one day (it was winrar), and nothing starts.
2. Task manager shows CPU usage as 50 (I have dual core), while memory usage remains at 84k
3. After a few days vlcplayer.exe started giving the same problem

-> So, I reinstalled windows (formatted my C drive and installed a fresh copy).
-> Everything worked fine. I was using Irfanview.exe with no problems, but then one day again, IrfanView.exe did not start. Same problem : CPU usage was 50% while memory remained really low.
-> I uninstalled it from C:/program files and installed a new copy in C:/program files --- this did not solve the problem
-> I uninstalled it again from C:/program files and installed to D:/ Now it works fine...
-> But now again I got the same problem with media player.exe