Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Possible Root Kit

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 Bootlegger

Bootlegger

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:48 AM

Posted 03 October 2010 - 12:49 PM

Hello and thank you for the assistance on the log. I want to start off by saying I am a computer tech and played with my computer extensively and didn't qualify for assistance before as I violated all of the rules for asking for assistance by tinkering. I am very intriguied and have been studying how to remove a virus for someone else and would like to get trained in this area formally. In any event I have since done a system restore and critical updates for the most part and put Avast on with the def. file up to date. I have hesitated doing anything else until I am sure I don't have a Root-Kit installed. The only thing that I have done is to run mbr.exe and I get error reading MBR after the re-load of the OS.

Stealth MBR rootkit/Mebroot/Sinowal detector 0.3.7 by Gmer, http://www.gmer.net
device: opened successfully
user: MBR read successfully
kernel: error reading MBR

I also ran mbrcheck.exe after the re-load and got the attached jpeg

I ran those tools because they were my point of concern showing possible concern and only ran them again to see if I needed to post for a guiding eye.