Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Possible Rootkit infection, Even After Recover of system

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ChrisR67

ChrisR67

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:55 AM

Posted 28 September 2010 - 05:39 PM

Hello, I am new to Bleeping Computer. Thanks for taking time to help. I am using Windows XP Home Edition 2002 (SP2) on a Compaq Presario V2000 Laptop, circa 2007. A couple of weeks ago, it was infected by a virus or malware that causes redirect from the IE and Mozilla Search Bar (the one up by the Browser Bar). Searches are OK straight from Google and other search pages.

Also, I was getting frequent svchost.exe errors, and an Error Box about Gen Windows Services 32 has encountered an error and must shut down. When that shut down, I lost USB Port functionality and sound.

PLUS, I got a popup for a Fake Spyware removal program.

Scanned with Malaware Bytes and Ad-Aware, found and cleaned a few things, then nothing. Problem persisted.

As last resort, did the Destructive Recovery from the Compaq D Drive.

And, I still have issues. Still have the redirect. So far, have not has a svchost.exe error.

Cannot get to Windows Update web page to load.

I did commit a Bleeping Computer No-No, before I knew it was a No-No. Read about, Downloaded and ran ComboFix. Log says it found Rootkit activity.