Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Acer Laptop Overheating

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dmcrooc

dmcrooc

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:05 PM

Posted 27 September 2010 - 09:57 AM

I have an Acer Extensa 4620Z and I've been using it for about 2 years now. I have a few problems with this laptop and I hope someone here can help.

I usually have my laptop plugged in (they say it's a bad thing) and a few months ago the battery just gave up on me. Now my laptop doesn't run when it is not plugged in. I also noticed that my laptop would suddenly shut down by itself after using it for about an hour so. I figured there must be something wrong its cooling system so I bought a cooling pad. My laptop works OK with a cooling pad, but I still get the usual shut downs every now and then.

My questions are:
1. Could the overheating be caused by plugging in the laptop all the time?
2. Is there a way to check if the fan is working properly?
3. With this overheating problem, do I need to bring the laptop to the Acer service center to have it checked?

Thanks in advance!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 max7bg

max7bg

• Banned
  • 317 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:05 PM

Posted 27 September 2010 - 11:32 AM

Try to clean the dust if you know, and if you don't take the laptop to service