Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Yahoo Account Compromised, possible system compromised

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Chuck_Tree

Chuck_Tree

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:58 PM

Posted 19 September 2010 - 05:21 PM

Esteemed Forum Members,

This is my first posting here. I am a Java programmer/developer. And I look forward to participating. Although I generally find that I learn more from reading the posts of the knowledgeable folks here than with me talking.

My current question is to see if anyone knows any more about a computer affliction that has affected two friends in the past week. (They are in different groups, so these are separate "afflictions".)

The two are remarkably similar so I am hypothesizing that they are basically the same attack. I suspect that if I have bumped into two of these cases, you folks may have already been there and done that.

As I don't have access to either of their computers, and as they are rather naive MSWindows users, it might be difficult for me to run the various diagnosic tools on their systems.