Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First visit / posting Looks like rootkit to me

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 AfpMike

AfpMike

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:23 AM

Posted 19 September 2010 - 08:20 AM

Edit = Not getting any responses. Did I do something wrong? :|

Hi,

As indicated this is my first time here on the forums, among so many that know more than I, even that I've done support and dealt with computers more than 20 years. Thank you for the time spent helping those of us learning how to cope with more advanced viral afflictions.

Quiet but odd behaviors lead me to run MalwareBytes and SuperAntispyware first. Both initially found several tracks and lesser infections but seeing a couple of droppers, made me nervous. Slow P4, struggling for reliable TCP still, so I DL'd a copy of HJT and cleaned up the usuals. Still no better, started to smell like rootkit, so DL'd a copy of RootRepeal and found several indications of things not happy. Some hidden files, hooked processes and most concerning a tcpip.sys that's hidden and has no signature found.