Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Booting from External Drive

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Rob the Newbie

Rob the Newbie

• Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:04 PM

Posted 17 September 2010 - 06:36 PM

Okay, I am a newbie to Linux and wanted to try something, yet it seems that the things I want to do always sound simple, but seem to not be possible or easy to do for a newbie. So, tell me if this is not easy:

My computer can boot from a USB drive; I used an install disk to install Linux to the external drive. However, the GRUB (or whatever) that it put on made it so that I could not load Windows 7 (on my internal drive) unless the external drive was attached. So I used EasyBCD to restore my Windows bootloader.

So, I just want to do this: set up a kind of dual boot option so that if the external drive is plugged in, it sees a Linux MBR (or whatever) and loads that; otherwise, it continues with Windows 7 if it is not plugged in. Yet it would seem that if I make the usb drive the first that the BIOS sees, it does not see anything to boot off of the external.

Do I make any sense at all to anyone?!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cryptodan

cryptodan

Bleepin Madman

• Members
  • 21,868 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:04 PM

Posted 18 September 2010 - 01:02 PM