Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

norton removal and what to use next

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 moparfan1234

moparfan1234

• Members
  • 126 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:17 AM

Posted 14 September 2010 - 12:06 PM

let me start off as im not very good with computers so please exsplain in detail. i have a emachines bought new last year came with norton on it. of corse the trial time ran out so i run for months with out nothing. finally my uncle had bought 2010 norton internet security and let me use it. ok so it worked good for a few days then i desided to use the disk cleanup tool and the next time i started up my computer i could not open internet explorer or norton i restarted the compuer about 5 times till every thing worked agan. next time i shut it down and started it back up same thing. i did try unistalling norton and reinstalled it. well this happend over and over till one day the restart trick just wasent working. so i recoverd the computer to the oldest date i could. now i have my internet explorer back but the norton tool bar is gone and i still can not open norton or unistall it. i have also been geting messages saying norton has been turned off and it wont let me turn it back on.