Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Google link redirector/hijacker - Windows update service

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 c_robertson

c_robertson

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:32 PM

Posted 05 September 2010 - 08:44 PM

Firstly, I'm a computer repair professional and troll this site to see what is new in the way of trojans.
Recently My NIS2010 began warning me about several files that were "infected" and removed them.
Shortly there after, My links in google and yahoo searches would get redirected. This is what I tried.
XP-pro IE8 hijacked links, most any search engine.
Tested google chrome - No redirected links
Reset IE8, cleaned all temp files (ccleaner & ATF cleaner) & Disabled all addons.

Scanned with, NIS 2010, hijack this, SAS, MBM, NTT, rookit revealer, and about 10 other little utilities and such. They all found nothing.
I've had this before and had an idea of what it was, but wanted to find a program that could detect this. I considered combofix, but that's my last ditch program.

In Hijack-this, I removed all BHOs and really stripped the system bare.
I use Anvir to check the services and processes.
I Have a few programs that turn off all un-nesessary services
Then turned off optional serivces. No good.
I begin turning off non-critical services.
The first, my fist suspect - Windows update service.