Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Looping reboot, no bluescreen

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 danjpete

danjpete

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:35 PM

Posted 01 September 2010 - 03:22 PM

I'm a technician for a helpdesk at a small university. Apparently a lab computer wasn't booting to windows one day, so a professor dropped it off. The computer is going through a looping reboot, but the confounding thing is that there is no bluescreen. I ran memtest and found a failed stick of ram. I replaced it with a new stick, ran memtest again, and came up without any errors. Just for good measure, I also ran spinrite, which also came up clean. It now sits, mocking me, looping through a cycle where the windows loading screen comes up, the bar starts to go across below the logo, and it reboots before it even has the chance to bluescreen.

I have no way of knowing the recent activity of the computer, so I don't know if anything was installed, if someone kicked it across the desk, or anything that could give any indication as to why this is happening.

Technical stuff:
Windows XP Professional Corporate SP3
AcerPower FH (APFH-EP9250P)
Pentium D CPU (Not sure which one specifically)
2 GB DDR2 RAM
160 GB HDD

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Baltboy

Baltboy

Bleepin' Flame Head

• Members
  • 1,432 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:35 PM